Anti-Flag / Cancer Bats / Worriers

Anti-Flag / Cancer Bats / Worriers
£16.50 + BF

The MJR Group by arrangement with United Talent Agency presents
Anti-Flag / Cancer Bats / Worriers

14+ (under 16s with an adult)

Anti-Flag :

Pennsylvanian punk rock band Anti-Flag channeled their frustration with social oppression, unfair parsing of class sects, and imperialistic regime into cutting songs that bled with sincerity and equally catchy hooks. They approximated the harsh atonalities of hardcore originators like Black Flag, but ingeniously dressed them in pop sheen.

Anti-Flag was initially formed in 1988 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States; however within less than a year it fell apart. Justin Sane (vocals/guitar) and Pat Thetic (drums) founded the group and recruited a line up that never seemed to stabilize. They played only one show before rupturing in 1989.

The group reformed in 1992, just 3 years after their dissolution. The band now a trio (as bassist Andy Flag joined Justin and Pat) put out a 17-song demo simply entitled “17 Songs”. The band did not release their studio debut “Die For the Government” until 4 years later. This same year they released a split EP “Reject” with punk contemporaries Against All Authority as well as the album “North America Sucks” yet another split release this time with the group d.b.s.

Following several line up changes the band released their second studio debut “Their System Doesn’t Work For You” through their own independent label “A-F Records”. By 1999 the band’s line up finally coalesced and they released their 3rd album “A New Kind of Army”, which featured a variety of potent political concerns such as police brutality, abortion, fascism etc...

The band opened the 2000s co-healing Vans Warped Tour, an event that would lead to their meeting with NOFX frontman, Fat Mike. The band found a shared mentality in music and politics and eventually decided to join his record label Fat Wreck Chords. Through this label they released their 2001 album “Underground Network” as well as their 2003 album “The Terror State”. While the former of the two albums still focused heavily on political and social issues it was perceived largely as the band’s first release to break from the hardcore punk scene and head into the mainstream. The album’s booklet contained essays written by various intellects including, Boston University professor Howard Zinn. The group followed this album with their independently released record “Mobilize”, which focused heavily on the social context of post-911.

2005 marked the period in the band’s career when they would move to major label RCA. Anti-Flag sought to be heard on a larger scale and finally committed to joining a major label under the condition that they would maintain complete control over their career.

The band’s first release through this label was 2006’s “For Blood and Empire”. They supported this release with a lengthy US tour entitled “War Sucks Let’s Party” and returned to the studio to record “The Bright Lights of America” with acclaimed producer Tony Visconti (T. Rex, David Bowie, and Morrissey). Their next album “The People or the Gun” came out on 31 March 2009 through SideOneDummy, making it their first release on this label. The band promoted the album with a US tour alongside Aiden and the Cancer Bats and subsequently embarked on an Australian tour playing gigs and festivals such as Soundwave Festival with acts like AFI, Paramore, Escape the Fate, A Day to Remember, and HIM.

Anti-Flag continued touring, playing shows across Canada and South America. Around this time they also participated in events like Warped Tour and opened for well known acts like System of a Down and My Chemical Romance. The group put out their 9th studio album “The Great Strike” in 2012 and followed it up with 2 releases in 2014: their EP “20 Years of Hell” and their compilation album “A Document of Dissent: 1993-2013”.

Cancer Bars :
Cancer Bats is a prolific Canadian hardcore punk band formed in 2004 by Liam Cormier and Scott Middleton, hailing from Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Prior to Cancer Bats’ earliest incarnation, singer Liam Cormier and guitarist Scott Middleton had played in the Toronto-based heavy metal band At the Mercy of Inspiration. Looking to craft a heavier, more elemental sound, with inspiration drawn from Refused, Black Flag, and Led Zeppelin, the pair formed Cancer Bats and invited bassist Andrew McCracken and drummer Joel Bath to the lineup. By January 2005 the quartet had produced a self-released demo, after which Mike Peters replaced Baths on drums. Cancer Bats subsequently began honing their live skills by performing across Southern Ontario alongside the likes of Billy Talent, Every Time I Die, Alexisonfire, Gallows, and Rise Against.

In June 2006 the band released their debut record “Birthing the Giant” featuring guest vocals from Alexisonfire’s George Pettit. Earning a host of positive reviews, the album spawned the singles “100 Grand Canyon”, “French Immersion”, and “Pneumonia Hawk”. Following the release bassist McCracken departed to focus on his design company, who was temporarily replaced by Jason Bailey, before Jay R. Schwarzer took over the reigns in late 2007.

Cancer Bats’ sophomore full-length “Hail Destroyer” arrived in April 2008 receiving a plethora of critical acclaim. With features from Rise Against’s Tim McIlrath, Alexisonfire’s Wade McNeil, and Billy Talent’s Ben Kowalewicz, the record was supported by an extensive tour including dates at Download Festival and Reading and Leeds Festivals. Following a further period intense touring Cancer Bats issued their third studio album “Bears, Mayors, Scraps & Bones” in April 2010. The group subsequently performed as “Bat Sabbath”, a Black Sabbath tribute band, at the Sonisphere Festival in July.

The full-length “Dead Set on Living” was released in early 2012 marking a more upbeat direction for the band. Led by the single “Old Blood”, the record draws influence from indie rock bands including Fleet Foxes, and was supported by playing five shows in the shape of a pentagram across the UK.


Worriers are a melodic punk band from Brooklyn, New York. The band’s music is centered around the songwriting of Lauren Denitzio, with the help of friends Mikey Erg, Lou Hanman, John McLean and Nick Psillas, among others.